About Us

Cloudbank Books was launched in 2000 with the publication of Millennial Spring: Eight New Oregon Poets, an anthology of contemporary verse, edited by Peter Sears and Michael Malan. Since then, we have published nine other books of poetry, including those shown on our Home Page. 

In 2009, the first issue of Cloudbank magazine was published. Issues range from 84 to 96 pages, perfect-bound with color art on the cover. Two or three book reviews are included in each issue, along with at least 65 pages of poetry and short prose. We offer a prize of $200 for one poem or flash fiction in each issue. Contest entries receive a two-issue subscription. We also offer a prize for a full-length book manuscript. See Contest link for submission guidelines. 

About Cloudbank’s editors:

MichaelEditor Michael Malan’s poems and stories have been published in Epoch, Cutthroat, Denver Quarterly, Potomac Review, Poetry East, Hayden’s Ferry Review, South Carolina Review, Hawaii Review, CutBank, Wisconsin Review, Rhino, Portland Review, The Christian Science Monitor, and elsewhere. He was a finalist in the New Letters 2008 Literary Awards for Writers.



Peter SearsAssociate Editor Peter Sears’ latest book is Small Talk. He is the author of three other books of poems, The Brink, Green Diver, and Tour. He received his M.F.A. from the Writers’ Workshop at the University of Iowa and is the 1999 winner of the Peregrine Smith Poetry Contest. Peter served as Poet Laureate for the State of Oregon from 2014-2016.




Cloudbank intern, Linnea Nelson, is a second year MFA candidate in poetry at Oregon State University, where she teaches composition and poetry writing. A graduate of North Dakota State University, she is a former Editor-in-Chief of NDSU’s literary journal, Northern Eclecta. Her poetry has appeared in San Pedro River Review, Gold Man Review, The Adirondack Review, Tule Review, and Tribeca Poetry Review, among other publications.



Cloudbank intern, Dakota Clement, is a second-year MFA candidate in poetry at Oregon State University, where he is also the managing editor for their literary magazine, 45th Parallel. Prior to moving to the Pacific Northwest, Dakota attended Kalamazoo College & taught people how to brew beer.